Our jury is made up of recognised experts, journalists and photographers.

The jury focuses, above all, on the quality of the photograph (focus, exposure, composition, etc.) and how well the idea behind the photograph meets the requirements of the competition. The photograph must be good in every respect: from its suitability for the selected category to its composition. In order for a photograph to be shortlisted, the following criteria must be met:

• The photograph must be a suitable size: at least 1,920 x 1,080 pixels.
• There must only be one image in each file; no collages.
• There must be no frame, graphical elements or evident image manipulation.
• There must be no text on the image (e.g. the photographer's name or a copyright notice).

The ratings or comments on our website are just one parameter considered in the final assessment. Photographs with only a few ratings or comments also have a chance of winning.

  • Christina Brun

    is a multimedia producer who tells stories that are affecting, honest and thought-provoking. She focuses on the fine line between art and journalism. In 2015 she was honoured for her project “Stories beyond the wall” with first place in the project competition.
  • Wolfgang Heinen

    is the publisher and editor in chief of the photo magazines PHOTO PRESSE, PhotoKlassik and fotoPRO. As an author, his work “PaarUnPaar” was nominated for the German Photobook Prize.
  • Dr. Rolf Hollander

    is the Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Neumüller CEWE Color Foundation. As patron of the CEWE photo competition “Our world is beautiful”, he holds the promotion of the cultural asset of photography near and dear.
  • Ole Jørgen Liodden

    is a Norwegian wildlife photographer, author, expedition leader and environmentalist. Currently he works as an ambassador for Japan Photo PRO, and in previous years worked as an ambassador for Canon (2008-2010) and Nikon (2010-2012).
  • Andreas J. Mueller

    is the director of the Deutsches Fotomuseum (German Museum of Photography) in Leipzig. After completing his university studies in the art of painting and graphic drawing, he worked as a freelance cartoonist, illustrator, comic-strip artist and animator.
  • Micha Pawlitzki

    is a frequently published photographer with a focus on architectural and landscape photography. He has worked with companies such as Apple, BMW, Microsoft and the BBC.
  • Ewald Schmelz

    is President of the Austrian VÖAV (The Association of Austrian Amateur Photographers) and as such is also the liaison officer to the FIAP (the International Federation for Photographic Art). Formerly an internationally renowned photographer himself, he is now compiling the rules and regulations for the accurate evaluation of photo competitions.
  • Jörg Uhlenbrock

    is the head of photo culture marketing at CEWE and is tasked with the promotion of the cultural asset of photography. In this function, the passionate photographer and marketing renaissance man organizes and curates both various CEWE-owned and cooperative competitions and exhibitions.